Being in the youth world, we often speak of post-camp highs that our students go through, how the experience has made an impact on their life and they are motivated to make changes in their life when they come home. Well, I’m experiencing a post-conference high!

I have been to my fair share of professional conferences, but the past two days I had the opportunity to attend the Northwest Ministry Conference with hubby and others from our church. I experienced awesome worship from the Overlake Christian Church Worship Band, attended awesome sessions with Pastors Wives (including one about sex that was awesome!), chatted with another YPW (Youth Pastor Wife) just beginning her marriage and ministry life (and actually had some stuff to share from my nearly 3 years experience! Woohoo!), spent quality time with my hubby, we sponsored a child through Compassion International, and I got 2 books and 4 CDs for free.

It’s past 10 and I was wanting to be in bed 4 minutes ago because I’m exhausted and we have been getting up early the past 2 days for the conference, but I just had to share. I’m listening to Risk right now, the newest CD from Jesse Butterworth & the OCC Worship Band- it’s incredible! Check out Ache, Shine, and O The Deep for some awesome songs- we got to sing them live! Basically, I’m feeling super refreshed, filled with The Holy Spirit and ready to re-focus my life on Christ. I recently joined Bible Study Fellowship (BSF) and it’s been great to have accountability and homework to allow myself to focus on studying the Bible. That was the start of my re-focus, and this has been icing on the cake. Hooray!

And now my friends, I leave you with this: God loves you and cares about you incredibly more than you can ever imagine. I just heard an analogy that we are like engagement rings- a gift from God to Jesus. Both giver and receiver take delight in the precious gift- that’s us! Have you ever thought of yourself in that context? I know it opened my eyes to God’s love for me in a new way and I pray that you are able to experience it for yourself! Jesus died to forgive our sins so we could spend eternity with God. Eternity. I can’t fathom what eternity is, but I think it’s worth it to check out what Jesus has to offer before you make a decision about not spending eternity with Him. It’s assumed that good people will go to heaven, but this just isn’t the case. Ephesians 2:8-9 says “For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast.” The only ticket to heaven is faith in Jesus as Lord and Savior. Want to know more? Check out this for more information. Heavy stuff, but I’m not going to apologize for being preachy. I’m typically not. At all. And that’s not cool, because I want to spend eternity with those I love, those I know, those I don’t know, and everyone else.

