Awhile back, I bought a yogurt maker because I’m super mom and love making homemade baby food for Charis (don’t ask me about my gourmet cooking for Eric and I… that’s another story). So now that she is a dairy loving chica again, I introduced yogurt and cottage cheese into her diet. I love Super Baby Food and wanted to make my own yogurt for her, so when I happened to come across not 1, but 2 yogurt makers at Salvation Army, I had to get one! And, it was $1, so I couldn’t pass it up. And no, I didn’t buy both. 🙂

So, I have had said yogurt maker for quite some time with good intentions to make yogurt, but not fulfilling my yogurt making duties. I didn’t know how long it would take for the sterilized milk to get from 185 degrees to 112, so that was my main hesitation. That, and the fact that I’m a procrastinator may have had something to do with it.

Today was the day I made milk! Except now I’m not sure how I feel about it. It definitely yogurt-ed itself up nicely, has some whey on top of it (which I will pour off, as it doesn’t sound appeasing to me <although Super Baby Food says it’s super healthy and you can drink it, so if anyone wants it, holler at me>), and it’s in the fridge. Trouble is, I love yogurt. LOVE it. It was one of my most missed items when I was dairy free (how long did that last anyways? Not as long as I thought it would, thank goodness!), and I’m glad to have it now. I love all flavors of yogurt, but I don’t reach for vanilla or plain yogurt. But this is what I now have in my fridge. I’m determined to try it (so will Charis), but after the mandatory taste sans flavoring, I will be doctoring it up. SBF also said homemade plain yogurt is wonderful, so who knows, I might like it, and I might drink my whey with pride. Realistically? I’m somewhat granola, but not that crunchy.

UPDATE: I tried it. Not bad! Even pretty good! I did dump the whey (wasn’t too much) and can’t wait to flavor it and make fro-yo!

