The year was 2005. The month, August. Connecticut was the state, and First Year Programs and PeerFest 2005 was the occasion. Technically, the planning for PeerFest was the occasion that sticks out in your mind.

Close your eyes for a minute and imagine (OK, don’t close your eyes because then you can’t read. Maybe I should turn this into a podcast. Or not) that you are a new graduate student at UConn in the renowned Higher Education & Student Affairs Program. You just left your boyfriend in California to spend the next two years studying college students and working as the Peer Education Coordinator in First Year Programs. PeerFest is a student leadership conference that you will be managing for the next two years, but for right now, you are just to learn as much as possible about this year’s PeerFest and survive because your first day on the job is just about a week and a half before it starts.

You’re in your new office with your new colleagues and everyone is busy because there are so many things to do before the big day. One of my coworkers Alexa leads us in a mini meeting to discuss the items that need our attention for the week. She does this standing at a whiteboard, dry erase marker in hand, writing furiously on the board while making sure we are paying close attention to every detail. Her frenzy rattled my nerves a bit, as I was A) unsure of how to best handle the situation and the tasks at hand, and B) a bit worried about whether or not I was going to get along with this chick because she was a bit high strung.

Well, I think I handled the tasks well while I was a UConn Husky, and I’m happy to report that 4 1/2 years later, I am still friends with my Lexy Loo! I like to describe Lex as a strong J (MBTI) with great people skills- the ideal person to have on every staff and in every office. She’s super detail oriented, an incredible delegator, a fiercely talented graphic designer, an awesome friend, and overall great person. I am so lucky to have been able to work with Lex during my time at UConn and to develop such a great friendship with her. She was one of my bridesmaids in my wedding, helped me through good and bad times, and calls to check on us when I haven’t called her first.

Word on the street is that Alexa has a great guy (I can’t confirm because I haven’t met him yet!!!), and I couldn’t be happier for this beautiful woman who celebrated her birthday on the 29th of December. Picky doesn’t begin to describe how Lex relates to guys, so I applaud you Jeremy for keeping this lady happy and number 1 like she deserves!

So here’s to you Lexy Loo! The Drumm family wishes you a wonderful 28th year of life! We miss you lots and hope you (and Jer?) are able to come visit us sometime soon. Charis can’t wait to meet her Auntie Lex! Love you!

